The Portage Foundation is a nonprofit, community corporation that acts as a “bridge” between donors and charitable activities that serve area residents.

Skeels Center Tutoring Session 2021 Portage Foundation Grant, About

Our Mission

The Portage Foundation is building a thriving and dynamic community for Portage County and the region. We inspire philanthropy, build endowments, impact causes and foster projects, and engage community leaders.

Portage Foundation 2023 Annual Report

The 2023 Annual Report has been release by the Board of Trustees. The report outlines the impacts the foundation has had within the area and our generous donors.

Meet Our Team

Mary Anne Zeman

Operations Manager

Email Mary Anne at mazeman@portagefoundation.org

Janice Simmons-Mortimer portrait

Janice Simmons- Mortimer

Executive Director

Email Janice at jsmortimer@portagefoundation.org

Heidi Johnson

Community Engagement Manager

Email Heidi at hjohnson@portagefoundation.org

The Portage Foundation office is located at:

6693 N. Chestnut Street, Suite 268-B, Ravenna, Ohio 44266.

Office hours vary, so please contact us at 330-470-8950 to set an appointment.

Please continue to use the following address for all mailings: PO Box 623, Kent, OH 44240

Our Board of Trustees

Our team is led by trusted experts, professional advisors, business and nonprofit executives, and civic leaders intent on ensuring every donation does the most good.

Kamelia Fisher
Sr Director of Development & Engagement
Autism Society of Greater Akron
Akron, Ohio

Debbie Smeiles
Past President
Cutler Real Estate
Kent, Ohio

Beth Padisak
Board Secretary
Deerfield Ag Services, Inc
Deerfield, Ohio

Linda Zucca
Board Treasurer
Emerita Professor of Accounting
Kent State University
Kent, Ohio

Lissa Barry
Huron, Ohio

Eric Decker
Sr VP/Chief Lending Officer
Portage Community Bank
Kent, Ohio

Steve Fisher
Sales Representative
Post Glover Resistors
Madison, Indiana

Anne Jorgensen
Advancement Associate
St Vincent St Mary High School
Akron, Ohio

Marilyn Sessions
PR & Marketing Officer
Hometown Bank
Kent, Ohio

Mark Weisman
Kent, Ohio

Emeritus Trustees:

Michael Bakes

Marjorie L. Conner

Joann Hayes

Eric Hummel

Ralph Kletzien

Kevin T. Lewis

Read our Annual 990

Your legacy, OUR mission.

Create a lasting impact on your most cherished causes while gaining tax benefits for yourself. Contact us today and help build a brighter future.