Dr. Connie Stopper Nursing Legacy Scholarship

The Dr. Connie Stopper Nursing Legacy Scholarship is awarded in recognition of the registered nurses who have provided leadership in nursing care, nursing administration, and/or nursing education within Portage and Summit counties. It is given in special acknowledgement of the members of the Summit and Portage District Ohio Nurses Association who funded the scholarship and who contributed to nursing and health care in the district from 1946 to 2023. The scholarship was created to support nursing students who carry on the legacy of nursing in Summit and Portage counties.

Dr. Connie Stopper

Dr. Connie Stopper, PhD, RN was a longtime active and dedicated member of the Summit and Portage District of the Ohio Nurses Association until their dissolution in 2023. Throughout her decades of membership, she served on many committees and completed numerous impactful projects. In 2023 alone she held a seat on the Board of Directors and served as the Chair of the Professional Development Committee, Transition Committee, and Strategic Planning Task Force. Dr. Stopper completed her BSN and MEd at Kent State University, MSN at The Ohio State University, and PhD at the University of Kansas. Dr. Stopper has dedicated her life to the education and advancement of nursing and has held nursing faculty positions at several Ohio universities including Kent State University, Hiram College and the University of Mount Union. Dr. Stopper is passionate about nursing education, professional development, and leadership and has influenced and inspired nurses from novice to expert. It is with these values that this scholarship was created.

Donations can be made by check, mailed to: The Portage Foundation, PO Box 623, Kent, Ohio, 44240. You may also donate online with debit or credit cards via our online portal by clicking on the button below.